Venerable Ajahn Sumedho

Venerable Ajahn Sumedho
Anthology Vol 1 – Peace is a Simple Step
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 2014
Peace is a Simple Step brings together material that forms a foundation to Ajahn Sumedho’s teachings,
from talks that were given in the late 1970s and early 1980s. It is a collection made up of three books – ‘Cittaviveka’,
‘Teachings from the Forest’ and ‘The Four Noble Truths’.


Anthology Vol 3 – Direct Realization
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 2014 
This volume contains material gathered from talks given by Ajahn Sumedho in the late 1980s and 1990s.
It is made up of two collections – The Way It Is and Buddhism Now! – and an interview with John Baxter, conducted at Amaravati in 1986.
Anthology Vol 5 – The Wheel of Truth
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 2014
The title of this book refers to the image of the Buddha’s teaching, the Wheel of Truth (or Dhamma).
It is a wheel that he set rolling in his first discourse by proclaiming the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path of practice.
This teaching remains as the axis of Ajahn Sumedho’s teaching and personal contemplative work
Now is the Knowing
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 2010 
“Yesterday is a memory. Tomorrow is the unknown. Now is the knowing.” (excerpt)
Mindfulness The Path to the Deathless
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 1984
 Instructions in and reflections on Buddhist meditation, edited from longer talks Ajahn Sumedho gave to meditators.


Nothing is More Joyless Than Selfishness

Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 2009
Five talks to the monastic community at Wat Pah Nanachat in May 1989,
given by Ajahn Sumedho and transcribed by Bhikkhu Gavesako.


The Four Noble Truths
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 1994
This small booklet was compiled and edited from talks given by Venerable Ajahn Sumedho
on the central teaching of the Buddha: that the unhappiness of humanity can be overcome through spiritual means.


The Way It Is
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 1990

This book contains a collection of teachings of Ajahn Sumedho given to people who are familiar with Theravāda Buddhism and have some experience of meditation.
Most of the chapters are edited from talks given during retreats for lay people or for Ajahn Sumedho’s monastic disciples.

Intuitive Awareness
Ajahn Sumedho
Year Published: 2003
A book compiled from talks given mostly in 2001 by Ajahn Sumedho. They convey an intuitive understanding of the Buddha’s teaching
which has arisen from over thirty-five years of practice as a Buddhist monk.